Bloomington Speedway

Brownstown Speedway

Daugherty Speedway

Gas City I-69 Speedway

Kickapoo Speedway

Lincoln Park Speedway

Terre Haute Action Track

Tri-State Speedway




     Lawrenceburg, IN - October 1, 2011.  Levi Jones of Olney, IL, picked up a $10,000 paycheck Saturday night in winning the USAC and MSCS co-sanctioned City of Lawrenceburg Nationals at Lawrenceburg Speedway.  The United States Auto Club points leader inherited the lead on lap 23 and led the rest of the 30 lap event.  Jones was driving the Tony Stewart Racing GM Performance Parts Eagle/Chevy.  Hunter Schuerenberg began challenging Jones over those final 8 laps.  However it was Chris Windom who moved up from mid pack to take second in the dash to the finish line.  Casey Riggs finished fourth and veteran Tracy Hines was fifth.
     In the post race interview Levi Jones summed up the efforts on the track.  “I did not have the fastest car but we won.  Hendrick was really fast.”  A huge pileup in turn three of lap 23 changed the complexion of the event.  Jonathan Hendrick had been leading and  was stretching the lead despite the emergence of lapped traffic.  Suddenly cars came together.  The resulting action nearly blocked the track.  The cars of Coleman Gulick and Critter Malone were hooked together at the center of the track.  Robert Ballou’s sprint car was up at the wall.  Another car or two took up the lower portion of the track.  Justin Grant’s car was also involved.  Hendrick who was just behind connected and flipped.  He was just laps away from his first MSCS feature win and it would have been a big one!
     Positions six through ten went to Jon Stanbrough, Jerry Coons Jr., Ted Hines, Bobby East, and Bryan Clauson.  Ted Hines who started 21st in the 24 car field earned the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race Award which is presented by MSCS.  East drove up into the top ten after taking the USAC provisional to start the event.  Clauson was on the move too.  He was one of 7 drivers that gained 6 or more spots before the checkers waved.
     The four heat  races were won by Brady Short, Chris Windom, Matt Westfall, and Blake Fitzpatrick.  Using the USAC format for the program, the top four from each heat and the top six from the Semi earned their way into the feature.  Fast qualifier Brady Bacon won the Semi Feature but the car overheated in the feature and he failed to finish.  Thirty eight cars timed in for the event.  Jac Haudenschild picked up the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award in finishing eleventh for the feature in the Dynamics 69.
     The preliminary events were also interrupted by red flags.  Daron Clayton flipped in the first heat and the car was done for the night. Mike Miller flipped in the third heat but he did make it back out for the Semi.   Shawn Westerfeld was battling for a transfer spot  when he flipped during the Semi.
     The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series will be competing Saturday night October 8th at Tri-State Speedway.  This is the last event scheduled for MSCS this season.  The MSCS Harvest Cup that night will have an earlier starting time than usual.  The heat races will start at 7 P.M. with hot laps beginning at 6 P.M.  The feature will pay $4,000 to win.  It will be the final night of racing at the track this season.  Sprint car drivers will have one last opportunity to gain in valuable series points.  The UMP Modifieds will also be racing!          
Race Coverage as provided by MSCS.

Share |