Haubstadt, IN - September 29, 2016 -  Tri-State Speedway will host the Harvest Cup on Saturday October 8th.  It has become the championship event for the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series.  This race for 410 non wing sprint cars originated in 2011 to provide the series with a special event designed to showcase the talents of the drivers one last time each season.

     The Harvest Cup is that one last opportunity to gain valuable points which could earn a driver a series title and/or a larger share of the point fund sponsored by Hoosier Racing Tire.  The evening provides an advantageous time to present the MSCS season awards with fans supporting the series and the track in attendance.  The MSCS Championship Driver, Car Owner, and the Rookie of the Year Awards await those competitors!  

     Sprint car drivers present will be competing for a purse which will award the 30 lap feature winner $3,000.  The event will also be the last race to be held at the speedway in the 2016 season so Sunday October 9th will serve as a rain date.  If racing is held on Sunday qualifications will begin at 5 P.M. and racing at 6 P.M.  Race fans will be treated to a triple header with the AMS Open Wheel Modifieds and the MMSA Mini Sprints set to appear on the race card.

     The number of MSCS feature winners at Tri-State Speedway this season has been limited to two.  They are Kyle Cummins and Chase Stockon.  Cummins leads Stockon three wins to two!  However, Stockon won the Harvest Cup in 2015.  Both drivers reside in Gibson County where the track is located.  It appears that these two drivers are enjoying a home track advantage magnified with well prepared machines and sharpened driving skills.  Features are usually still too close to predict a winner with every lap and any incident so important to the outcome. 

     In providing increased interest, it should be noted that the MSCS Points title is still undecided.  It most likely will not be decided until the points are tallied after the feature itself.  Brady Short holds a 28 point margin over Tyler Hewitt.  Brandon Morin is just another 4 points back at a difference of 32 points.  Carson Short is at best a long shot to become this season’s title holder but could certainly move up higher in the standings.  Heat racing provides up to 10 points and the feature the 40 points that could make a big difference.

     Tyler Hewitt has already locked up the Rookie of the Year Award for the Midwest Sprint Car Series.  It is his first season to compete with MSCS and he has performed well.  Brandon Morin was last year’s MSCS Rookie of the Year.  Morin has been in the thick of the points battle all season.  After finishing tenth in overall points in 2015 he has upped his game to lead the points in late June and early July.  While Hewitt, Morin, and Carson Short are working to capture a first time MSCS Championship, Brady Short has two MSCS titles and is looking for a third.

     Positions fifth to tenth are close enough that movement up or down in the standings could follow this final race.  A perfect night for a driver would total seventy points.  That would include show up points, a heat race win, and a feature win.  Donny Brackett is currently fifth with Kyle Cummins ranked as his closest challenger.  Dakota Jackson is tenth with Jon Stanbrough in striking distance at eleventh.  Rookie Jared Chastain, C.J. Leary, and Brandon Mattox are closely wedged together within the second five!

     Remember that on October 8th it will be Racing Times Three!  The American Modified Series will be at the speedway to compete for an increased purse paying $1,500 to win.  The modified class will also race in an extra feature needed to make up the one rained out back on June 26th.   It will be the second appearance of the season for the MMSA Mini Sprints, but this time out they will be running minus the wing on top.  It all happens at Haubstadt and on the same night!  

Provided as News & Information for MSCS & Tri-State Speedway.  

Share |