Bloomington Speedway

Brownstown Speedway

Daugherty Speedway

Gas City I-69 Speedway

Kickapoo Speedway

Lincoln Park Speedway

Terre Haute Action Track

Tri-State Speedway




     Haubstadt, IN - April 11, 2017.  Tri-State Speedway will open the season this coming weekend with a racing program featuring the United States Auto Club Sprint Cars along with those following the Midwest Sprint Car Series.  This will be a co-sanctioned event offering fans the ultimate experience in watching exciting 410 non-wing sprint car racing.

     USAC AND MSCS competing together on the race card only happens twice a season. Both of these unique shows will be at the fast and challenging quarter mile oval at Haubstadt, IN.  The feature will pay $5,000 to win and $500 to start.  For this first combined show on April 15th, all the events on the sprint program will be conducted using the USAC format.     

     The Midwest Sprint Car Series has one event in the record book thus far.  An appearance at Lincoln Park Speedway on April 8th played out in front of a huge crowd.  Forty sprint car drivers competed.  Three dozen drivers have already obtained licenses to compete with MSCS during this season.  Annual licenses will also be available for purchase in the pits at the track for those drivers still needing to renew or sign up.   

     Defending Hoosier Tire MSCS Champion Brady Short was in action last week and finished fourth in the “Indiana Open Wheel Racin’ Fest.”  That MSCS event was won by one fast Thomas Meseraull.  Short is contending for a fourth series title.  He is just two points behind MSCS points leader Brent Beauchamp who was second at the “Fest.” As a reminder, all MSCS licensed drivers will be receiving full points even though the “Spring Showdown” is a co-sanctioned event.  

     Chase Stockon  won the 2016 version of the USAC-MSCS “Spring Showdown”.  Brady Bacon won the year prior!  This race originated at the track in 2012.  The main  event will be contested over 30 laps. 

     USAC already has three sprint car events in their record book for 2017.  Chris Windom recorded USAC’s most recent feature with a victory at Lawrenceburg Speedway on April 1st.  Justin Grant and Hunter Schuerenberg won the two USAC features held during February in Florida.  These three races produced three different winners.  The series is also scheduled to race at Bloomington Speedway the night before the “Showdown” set for Tri-State Speedway. 

    The Top Five drivers in the points for USAC at press release time were Justin Grant, Chad Boespflug, Chase Stockon, Hunter Schuerenberg, and Chris Windom.  The MSCS Top Five list includes Brent Beauchamp, Jarett Andretti, Brady Short, Jon Stanbrough, and A.J. Hopkins. The ever fast Carson Short is sixth in MSCS points.  Jarett Andretti is sixth in USAC Points and is one of a number of drivers who could benefit by earning points in both organizations.  Both lists are subject to change this weekend!


     The “Spring Showdown” is a great way for race fans to get out and enjoy the thrill of attending a dirt track race.  Qualifying on Saturday the 15th should begin about 6:30 P.M. Central Time.  Actual racing will begin with the heat races beginning at 7:30 P.M.  The UMP Open Wheel Modified Cars will also be racing to create a double bill that adds to the action.   


Provided as News and Information for MSCS and Tri-State Speedway.     

Share |