Bloomington Speedway

Brownstown Speedway

Daugherty Speedway

Gas City I-69 Speedway

Kickapoo Speedway

Lincoln Park Speedway

Terre Haute Action Track

Tri-State Speedway




     Brownstown, IN - June 24, 2017 -  The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series made it’s second visit ever to the Brownstown Speedway.  The result was the same in that Brady Short took the “Sprint Spectacular” feature and the $2,000 in prize money.  He also won that very first event there in 2015.  His mastery of the quarter mile fairgrounds oval brought forth All Time Win number 22 in MSCS competition.  It was his first series feature victory this year.  The effort also narrowed the slight points lead Carson Short holds in this year’s championship bid between the two.


    Brady Short was driving the black and yellow Maxim Sprinter owned by Cam Pottorff of Martinsville, IN, and sponsored by Sipes Body & Glass and Indiana Stone Works.  Don Short serves as the crew chief.  The power is produced by a Spec Engine!


     The “Bedford Blaster” set the pace in the feature event.  Runner-up status passed from Chad Boespflug to Tyler Thomas to Tyler Courtney over the first nine circuits.  Third spot became the next contested position with Shane Cottle claiming that at the wheel of the Dutcher Motosports sprint.  Jon Stanbrough passed Bill Rose to take fourth.  Rose finished fifth after running as high as third.


     The feature stayed green lap after lap until the 25th and final lap.  As Short was taking the checkers for the win a crash occurred involving the cars driven by Tyler Thomas and Dakota Jackson.  


     Carson Short was sixth.  Chad Boespflug, Dave Darland, Max McGhee, and Ethan Barrow rounded out the top ten.  Jeff Bland Jr. had a busy night.  He finished eleventh in the Waltz sprinter in MSCS competition after running his own car in the night’s opening NO WAY OUT 40 make-up feature.  The 11th place finish provided him with the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award.  Bland was also the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race in improving 8 spots!


     Thirty five cars participated with Carson Short leading everyone in Group Qualifications with a 13.323 seconds lap.  MSCS Rookie Garrett Aitken was second fastest his first night out.  Heat races were victories for Carson Short, Tyler Courtney, Dave Darland, and Bill Rose.  Rose was the only driver to win from the pole.  


     Max McGhee won the 12 lap B Main.  Jordan Kinser led the first 5 laps of the B and finished second.  Jeff Bland Jr. moved up to third in a steady march forward after starting last in a B field of 14 cars.  Five drivers failed to make the call following incidents in earlier racing.  There were 9 caution periods during the 4 heat races.


     The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series will be in action twice this next weekend.  The series will be at Lincoln Park Speedway Saturday night July 1 to present day 2 of the “Bill Gardner Sprintacular.”  Then Sunday everyone will regroup to participate in the “Sprint Stampede” at Tri-State Speedway which includes the addition of the MOWA Winged Sprints.  That evening will be made even more special as the “Class Track” celebrates its 60th consecutive year of continuous operation.

Provided as News and Information for MSCS.        

Share |