Bloomington Speedway

Brownstown Speedway

Daugherty Speedway

Gas City I-69 Speedway

Kickapoo Speedway

Lincoln Park Speedway

Terre Haute Action Track

Tri-State Speedway




    Putnamville, IN - July 1, 2017 -  It was one of those race nights supplied with all the necessary ingredients that makes sprint car racing an exciting sport to watch.  Track conditions changed from hot laps to race time.  There was a lot of action in the heat races and a battle to the finish in the feature.  Kevin Thomas Jr. prevailed to take the victory in the 30 lap “Bill Gardner Sprintacular” which is hosted by the Lincoln Park Speedway each season.  It was his sixth career victory in racing with the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series


     A restart in the feature with only seven laps remaining provided the opportunity Thomas needed to take the lead from Thomas Meseraull.  Thomas had the speed in his 9K sprinter to complete the task while California driver Ryan Bernal won the ensuing battle for second place over Meseraull.  Meseraull was third in the Briscoe 5 Sprinter.  Kody Swanson finished fourth while Jon Stanbrough claimed fifth in the 21 car field.  A.J. Hopkins brought the 4J Motorsports entry home in sixth.  Hopkins led the first 3 laps.  The remainder of the top ten included MSCS Points leader Carson Short, Shane Cottle, Brady Short, and Chase Stockon. 


      Accomplishments from the racing were marked by some stupendous driving through traffic.  Ryan Bernal took the 17GP sprint on a ride up through most of the field.  He had started eighteenth and gained 16 positions.  The crafty driver was the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race.  Carson Short was in a hurry also in coming from a 21st and provisional starting position  to finish seventh, a gain of 14 positions.  The Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award was given to Robert Ballou.  Ballou finished eleventh despite needing to visit the work area to replace a flat rear tire.  Earlier he was very competitive and working toward a top five or ten finish.


     The forty car field was divided into five preliminary heat races.  Those initial and important victories went to A.J. Hopkins, Kent Schmidt, Garrett Aitken, Thomas Meseraull, and Kevin Thomas Jr.  Aitken, a rookie with the series, went out to qualify with group three and  was credited with being the top overall qualifier with a lap of 14.084.  Chase Stockon also turned a lap at that speed but was in group four.


      There were two more opportunities for drivers to race.  Kyle Robbins won the C Main over Zach Hampton with the top five transferring to the B Main.  Robert Ballou was the fastest in winning the B Main with  twenty cars participating.


     MSCS has no other events schedule during the month of July.  The series will return to action on August 5th.  That date is an important occasion on the schedule for MSCS and Tri-State Speedway.  It will be the running of the Hoosier Sprint Nationals.  The winner will be looking at a $5,000 check.  This race continues a Haubstadt  tradition that has continued into a thirteenth season.  MSCS will return to Lincoln Park Speedway for a final 2017 appearance there on August 12th. 


Provided as News and Information for MSCS.

Share |