Bloomington Speedway

Brownstown Speedway

Daugherty Speedway

Gas City I-69 Speedway

Kickapoo Speedway

Lincoln Park Speedway

Terre Haute Action Track

Tri-State Speedway




     Medaryville, IN - August 11, 2017 -  Tyler Thomas won the 25 lap feature at the Shadyhill Speedway Friday night.  It was the first win for Thomas as a competitor in the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series.  The occasion also marked the first appearance for MSCS at the quarter mile Pulaski County facility.


     Thomas who races out of Indianapolis, IN, had one fast racing machine with the 17GP Michael Dutcher Motorsports sprinter.  The car & driver combination proved that it was quickest around the top line of the race track.  Thomas passed Brandon Mattox on the 10th lap and then secured the lead for the remainder of the 25 lap feature distance.  The victory was a $2,000 pay day on the dirt at Shadyhill.  The race car is sponsored by Griffin’s Propane and Indiana Underground.  


     The battle up front for the top five spots remained heated throughout the event.  Robert Ballou would finish second despite repeated pressure from both Brandon Mattox and Aaron Farney.  A restart on lap 18 and another on lap 20 tightened the entire field.  Farney took third from Mattox with three laps left to race.  Mattox held onto fourth with an effort hampered by the loss of an engine cylinder.  Rookie Garrett Aitken of Paris, IL, was fifth in collecting his best finish of the season.


     The second five in order included MSCS Points leader Brady Short, 2016 series Rookie of the Year Tyler Hewitt, Kokomo’s Josh Spencer, Buckeye driver Lee Underwood, and rookie Ben Knight.  Chad Davenport received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award by finishing 11th.  Drivers adjusted to the new surroundings, hooked up, and pushed hard.   There were only two spins during the feature.  Fifteen drivers finished the event.  Eight of those cars were still on the lead lap as starter Keith Dewig’s checkers waved.


     The two heat race winners were Aaron Farney and Tyler Thomas.  Fast qualifier Robert Ballou also earned the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race.  The starting field for the feature was very well balanced and Ballou finished highest of the four drivers who improved three spots in some tight battles.  Drivers from five states were present for this special but less frequent Friday night appearance for the series.  Brad Wyatt made the longest trek to race with a 500 mile, nine hour drive from Kearney, MO.


Provided as News and Information for the MSCS Series.      



Share |