Bloomington Speedway

Brownstown Speedway

Daugherty Speedway

Gas City I-69 Speedway

Kickapoo Speedway

Lincoln Park Speedway

Terre Haute Action Track

Tri-State Speedway





     Haubstadt, IN - August 25, 2017 -  Race fans will have an opportunity to celebrate the upcoming holiday while enjoying the sport of auto racing by attending this season’s “Labor Day Weekend Challenge.”  The special program at Tri-State Speedway will be presented on Sunday September 3rd.  The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series will share the racing card and divide track time with the UMP Modifieds.  This open wheel combination always promises an action packed double header.  The sprint car drivers will be running for $3,000 to win.  The Modified drivers will be racing for an increased purse with $1,000 going to the winner of their feature.  


     The eleven prior opportunities to sanction and complete this particular event have produced 7 different MSCS “Labor Day Weekend Challenge” winners.  Kyle Cummins of Princeton, IN, won the “Challenge” the last two seasons.  Two other drivers have also posted multiple wins in this annual event.  They are Missouri drivers Daron Clayton and Hunter Schuerenberg.  Clayton leads with three wins and Schuerenberg has two.  Veteran Jon Stanbrough was the winner at the “Challenge” in 2014.  Chris Windom, Scotty Weir, and Blake Fitzpatrick have also made victory lane appearances after taking a “Challenge.”


     The 2017 “Challenge” could produce a fourth repeat winner or reward a first time winner.  The twelve other MSCS races held so far this year have attracted 101 different sprint car drivers.  A strong representation of these competitors are expected to be present Sunday the 3rd to contest for the $3,000 to win and the “Challenge” trophy.  


     Only three races remain on the MSCS schedule and all three are at Tri-State Speedway.  The one and only “Haubstadt Hustler” combining USAC and MSCS teams is set for Saturday Sept. 16th.  After that event only one race will remain.  That is the “Harvest Cup” set for Saturday October 7th.  MSCS Champion and Rookie of the Year honors depend on the outcomes of these final three events. 


     The MSCS series last raced on August 12th.  Tyler Thomas won the feature that night at Lincoln Park Speedway.  MSCS last raced at Haubstadt on August 5th.  Kevin Thomas Jr. won the Hoosier Sprint Nationals then.  Meanwhile Brady Short has been building on his season points lead.  He is now up 132 markers.  Carson Short remains second in the standings.  Brandon Mattox has solo possession of third place.  Kyle Cummins, Robert Ballou. and Kent Schmidt are next in order and reaching for a top five spot.  All three are knotted together with 498 points each.  Kendall Ruble and Ben Knight are seventh and eighth in the standings and One-Two in the MSCS Rookie of the Year quest.  Donny Brackett and Dakota Jackson round out the top ten.


     Racing begins at 7:30 P.M. on Sunday night September 3rd.  Group qualifying will be held earlier with warm-ups to begin at 6 P.M. Central Time.  It’s sprints, modifieds, and all the exciting action the Class Track can provide!


Provided as News and Information for MSCS and Tri-State Speedway.               

Share |