Bloomington Speedway

Brownstown Speedway

Daugherty Speedway

Gas City I-69 Speedway

Kickapoo Speedway

Lincoln Park Speedway

Terre Haute Action Track

Tri-State Speedway





      Haubstadt, IN - May 01, 2018 -  The 410 non-wing sprint cars sanctioned by the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series will be racing at the Gas City I-69 Speedway this Friday.  The May 4th  date represents the first appearance for the series at this particular speedway.  Area race fans will have a unique opportunity to enjoy watching the action produced as series travelers arrive ready to battle the track’s local weekend warriors.  It will be Friday Night Fury at its Finest!  


     This MSCS special event will be topped off with a 30 lap feature paying $3,000 to win and $200 to start. The MSCS format provides for 20 cars to start the feature.  A provisional spot will also be made available to one eligible driver following the series.  Any drivers failing to transfer to the feature from the heats and B Main will receive $100.


     Drivers will need to report early to the MSCS trailer to register and pill draw.  Early season races can require more time to complete paperwork.  Once the business is taken care of the fun can begin!  The pit gate opens at 3 o‘clock.  MSCS uses group qualifying to set the line-ups for the heat races.  Hot laps and qualifying begin at 6:15 P.M.  Transponders will need to be picked up from MSCS for timing and scoring purposes.      


     This program is the third of some 17 events scheduled for the track this season.  Feature winners at Gas City thus far are Shane Cottle and Thomas Meseraull.  Cottle leads in track points.  Drivers electing to run with the series on a temporary permit are reminded that MSCS has a 4 corner Hoosier Tire rule that must be adhered to.  The spec right rear is a Hoosier 105/16.0-15 medium.    


     So far in 2018 MSCS has only competed one time.  Kevin Thomas Jr. of Cullman, AL,  was the victor in a co-sanctioned event with USAC at Haubstadt last weekend.  The victory propelled him into the series points lead.  Seven of the top ten 2017 MSCS drivers were in the field.  Of those Robert Ballou turned in the best feature performance with an amazing run from 20th to 7th.  Carson Short and Chase Stockon also turned in top ten feature performances.  However different tracks and new opportunities can certainly produce different results.  


    Drivers just behind Kevin Thomas Jr. in the 2018 MSCS standings include Dave Darland, Robert Ballou, Carson Short, and Brandon Mattox.  Short and Mattox were second and third in the final standings in 2017.  Donny Brackett is currently 6th.  Four time series champion Kyle Cummins is next followed by Aric Gentry, Collin Ambrose, and former MSCS Rookie of the Year Brian Karraker.  Eric Perrott begins this season as the leading rookie candidate  


     The Gas City I-69 Speedway is one of Indiana’s quarter mile semi banked clay ovals.  In Indiana the month of May is in itself an invitation to go racing!  The general admission gate opens at 4:30 for fans.   Heat races begin at 7:30 P.M. E.D.T.  Three other divisions will be racing on the program.


Provided as News and Information for MSCS.           

Share |