Bloomington Speedway

Brownstown Speedway

Daugherty Speedway

Gas City I-69 Speedway

Kickapoo Speedway

Lincoln Park Speedway

Terre Haute Action Track

Tri-State Speedway



     Haubstadt, IN - May 18, 2018 -  Preparation continues for a full holiday weekend of sprint car racing across the Hoosier state.  The Midwest Sprint Car Series will be racing on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday nights beginning on May 25th.  Racing on Friday will be held at Bloomington Speedway, move on to Lincoln Park Speedway the next night, and then wrap up three days of Memorial Weekend action at Tri-State Speedway on Sunday.  

     The intense weekend schedule provides sprint car racing enthusiasts the opportunity to follow the series and attend three tracks with a minimal amount of travel.  Non-wing 410 sprint car racing on the dirt continues to provide very exciting events and is an enduring tradition in Indiana.  All three of these racing programs will be capped off with features that pay $2,500 to win.  With three winning performances, a driver could collect $7,500.  This is the one and only weekend during the 2018 season that MSCS will conduct consecutive days of  back - to back - to back racing. 

     On Friday night MSCS will be sanctioning the 5th Annual “Josh Burton Memorial Race.”  The grandstands at Bloomington will admit fans at 5:30 P.M.  Hot laps will be at 6:30 P.M. with racing to begin at 7:30 Eastern Time.

     A special accommodation was made in an arrangement with the speedway officials to use single car qualifying for this special event.  Eddie Gilstrap Motors in Salem, IN, has posted a $1,000 bonus at Bloomington Speedway for the fastest qualifier in honor of the late Calvin Gilstrap.  In addition if the track record is broken in qualifying, B & B Auto Brokers of Bedford has posted a $500 bonus.  Other bonus awards include $1,000 if the feature winner has a halo bar welded to the cage.  The fourth place finisher will receive an additional $1,000 from B & B.  The track and the Burton family have been working to raise these additional awards for the drivers and to provide many souvenirs and surprises for the fans in attendance.   

          At Saturday night’s MSCS “ Memorial Weekend Special” at Putnamville, IN, the grandstands will open at 4:30 P.M. with warm ups and group qualifying beginning at 6 P.M.  Racing begins at 7 P.M. Eastern Time.  A.J. Hopkins won the 2017 Memorial Weekend Special.  Thomas Meseraull won the event at LPS in both 2016 and 2015.

     On Sunday night MSCS will compete in the “Memorial Weekend Classic” at Haubstadt, IN.  Warm ups and group qualifying begin at 6 P.M. with racing to follow at 7:30 P.M. Central Time.  Chase Stockon won the Classic at Tri-State in both 2017 and 2016.  Brady Short was the victor there in 2015.  

     Carson Short of Marion, IL, has assumed the lead in MSCS points as the series heads to Bloomington.  He took the points lead last year at this point in the season and made a strong run in an effort  to capture the title won by Brady Short.  Carson currently leads closest rival Brandon Mattox by 24 points.  Donny Brackett, Aric Gentry, and Kevin Thomas Jr. make up the rest of the top five.

     Kevin Thomas Jr. has two MSCS feature wins this season.  Stephen Schnapf won the other MSCS feature that has been held.  Schnapf is from Newburgh, IN.  He is only in his second full year of sprint car racing.  He has a fast car and has been quick in making this opportunity pay off!  There are three great opportunities Memorial Weekend.  The race will be on as soon as the green flag drops every night!


Provided as News and Information for the Midwest Sprint Car Series.         

Share |