Bloomington Speedway

Brownstown Speedway

Daugherty Speedway

Gas City I-69 Speedway

Kickapoo Speedway

Lincoln Park Speedway

Terre Haute Action Track

Tri-State Speedway



     Bloomington, IN - May 25, 2018 - Tyler Courtney of Indianapolis, IN, would prevail in an all out run to the finish Friday night at Bloomington Speedway.  Three other drivers had their shot at catching Courtney in a feature held in tribute to Josh Burton.  It was the fifth annual “Josh Burton Memorial Race.”  Courtney was at the wheel of the Clauson-Marshall-Newman Racing Spike.  The sprint car was sponsored by Priority Aviation .and Competition Suspension.


     The 21 car Midwest Sprint Car Series starting field took the green flag with Courtney taking the lead using the outside pole starting position.  Robert Ballou was the initial challenger.  Then Kevin Thomas Jr. moved past fast qualifier Jeff Bland Jr. to join the battle at the front.  The three drivers pulled away from the rest of the field.


     Kevin Thomas Jr. then caught Courtney and it became a spectacular side by side battle for 8 laps.  Ballou retook second as the leaders overtook and began lapping cars.  Thomas would finish third.  Thomas Meseraull and Carson Short rounded out the top five.  The pair had worked through the middle of the field with Short earning the Keizer Aluminum Wheel Hard Charger of the Race.  In finishing fourth Meseraull earned a $1,000 bonus courtesy of B & B Auto Brokers. 


     Stevie Sussex was sixth in the Jerry Burton 04.  Jon Stanbrough, Kyle Cummins, Brandon Morin, and Shelby Van Gilder completed the top ten.  Kellen Conover received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award with an eleventh place finish. 


     Heat race winners were Brandon Morin, Robert Ballou, and Tyler Courtney.  Jeff Bland Jr. was the fastest qualifier and received the big $1,000 check from prize sponsor  Eddie Gilstrap Motors of Salem, IN.  The award was in honor of the late Calvin Gilstrap.


     Hunter O’Neal won the 10 car, 12 lap B Main.  Braxton Cummings just missed earning the last transfer spot for the A but then took a track provisional offered.  An end to end tumble during heat race action had added to one difficult outing for Cummings.


     Race results once again changed the top ten standings for MSCS.  However Carson Short, Brandon Mattox, and Donny Brackett were still one, two, and three as the series prepared to head to Lincoln Park Speedway.


     Provided as News and Information for MSCS. 

Share |