Putnamville, IN - May 26, 2018 -  The Memorial Weekend Special at Lincoln Park Speedway was one fast paced, sure footed run for the Midwest Sprint Car Series drivers.  The 25 lap feature was completed in record time without a glitch.  There was not one yellow flag to slow the field.


     The overall fastest qualifier Carson Short took the lead at the halfway point and it became his race to win.  Short lead the final 13 laps in a flash to take his first MSCS win of the season.  The Marion, IL, driver picked up a check for $2,500 and added to his series points lead.  His RCM Motorsports DRC Spec powered sprinter is sponsored by Rass Restoration and Set Black Technology.


     Jeff Bland Jr. finished second in the main event.  The Springville, IN, driver led laps 5 to 12.  Jon Stanbrough was third at the checkers.   Stanbrough was on the point of the 21 car field for the first 4 laps.  The battle was between the top three finishers.  Robert Ballou and Dave Darland rounded out the top five.  Ballou was also the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race in gaining seven spots.


     The second five was led by Josh Hodges.  The New Mexico driver was making his first series appearance of the season.  Brandon Mattox, Kyle Cummins, Stevie Sussex, and Shane Cockrum made up the remainder of the top ten.  Garrett Aitken picked up the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award in finishing eleventh. 


     In preliminary action Colten Cottle won the 12 car, 12 lap B Main.  There were a couple of scratches due to heat race incidents.  Clinton Boyles and Justin Meneely had damaged cars and were unable to start.  Four heat races were conducted with Stevie Sussex, Kyle Cummins, Shane Cockrum, and Jeff Bland Jr. winning those.  Bland’s win came despite starting fourth on the field.  Cockrum’s win was by the tightest margin over Carson Short.


     The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series sanctioned trio of Memorial Weekend Races has thus far produced two different winners in two stops.  The one remaining round will be Sunday May 27th at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, IN.


Provided as News and Information for the Midwest Sprint Car Series.       

Share |