Bloomington Speedway

Brownstown Speedway

Daugherty Speedway

Gas City I-69 Speedway

Kickapoo Speedway

Lincoln Park Speedway

Terre Haute Action Track

Tri-State Speedway




     Haubstadt, IN - July 3, 2018 -  The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series will be in action again this Saturday night the 7th.  It is July and time for the “Bill Gardner Sprintacular” at Lincoln Park Speedway which will follow the July 4th holiday this year.


     Non-wing sprint car owners and drivers have two opportunities to race at the track over the weekend.  USAC will be racing on Friday night with MSCS appearing Saturday to close out the two day event.  For fans and competitors, it will be two successive days of non-wing sprint car racing with virtually no added travel. 


     The racing program at Lincoln Park Speedway is the fourth annual event named in honor of Bill Gardner who was the founder of the Indiana Open Wheel website which continues to serve as a popular forum supporting open wheel racing.  Both races pay well!  The MSCS feature on Saturday will pay $4,000 to win!


     MSCS has already completed the first half of the 2018 season.  There are just 8 races left of the 19 scheduled over the season.  Upon completion this event will add the ninth set of results to the record book.  Three shows have fallen to weather.  However there is  ample time for new or additional drivers to join the tour and work their way up through the points standings.  Drivers can compete by purchasing a license or a lower priced temporary permit.  Forty two drivers carry 2018 MSCS licenses.


     After MSCS appearances at the Daugherty and Kickapoo Speedways this past weekend, the points standings changed and that race tightened.  Brandon Mattox now leads the standings.  He joined winner Carson Short and runner-up Jon Stanbrough on the podium last Saturday night.  Carson Short is currently second in the standings.  Heat races award up to 10 points!  The difference between first and second in the current standings is less than that.  Two points!  Donny Brackett is currently third.


     The eight MSCS features completed this season have produced 6 different winners.  Two drivers have been repeat winners!  Kevin Thomas Jr. and Carson Short have taken two wins each.  Tyler Courtney, Chase Stockon, and Thomas Meseraull have enjoyed a feature win to add to career totals.  Stephen Schnapf collected that memorable first ever MSCS victory. 


    Kevin Thomas Jr. won the “Bill Gardner Sprintacular” for MSCS Sprints last season.  Thomas Meseraull was the winner in 2016.  Robert Ballou took the inaugural event on July 3, 2015!   


    Expect a formable pack of drivers to be at Lincoln Park to compete.  The sprint cars will take the track at 6 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time on Saturday at Putnamville.  Group qualifying will set the fields for the heats to follow.  


Provided as News and Information for MSCS.             

Share |