Putnamville, IN - July 7, 2018 -  Justin Grant stood on the accelerator Saturday night and at the conclusion of the feature he was standing in victory lane at Lincoln Park Speedway as the latest winner of the annual  “Bill Gardner Sprintacular.”  Grant who races out of Avon, IN, was driving the TOPP Motorsports Gaerte Maxim.  Sponsors include TOPP Performance and the BOW Foundation.  


     Grant led the last half of the race after starting third.  During the first half of the race he was involved in a three way, sometimes 3 wide, battle to take second.  Pole sitter and early leader Carson Short had the advantage and led the field for 15 laps.  Short was using an inside route around the track while closest pursuer Robert Ballou was using the high side hoping to gain the advantage.  Ballou’s effort ended as he flipped coming off turn four onto the front straightaway.  That brought out the only red flag during the event.  There were two cautions though.  An earlier yellow flag was for Joe Stornetta Jr. and the later was displayed for Kody Swanson who had spun exiting turn four.


     Kevin Thomas Jr. moved up to finish second in the 30 lap main event.  Carson Short dropped back to third.  Brent Beauchamp and Thomas Meseraull were fourth and fifth.  Meseraull had the Briscoe 5 in overdrive as he gained 13 spots.  He had started eighteenth after transferring to the main with a third place finish in the B Main.  The night’s effort earned him the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race.


     Forty two cars took qualifying runs in five group sessions.  The overall fastest qualifier was Jason McDougal of Broken Arrow, OK.  McDougal was piloting the Krockenberger 21K entry.  His fastest lap was 12.467 seconds.  The large field of sprints in competition required that a C Main be added to the program.  Josh Hodges of Albuquerque, NM, won it with the top five of the 10 starters transferring to the B Main.  Colten Cottle then took the B with the top five of those 20 starters transferring to the A Main.


     Chad Boespflug, who was second in the B, finished sixth in the A.  He had moved up 11 spots.  Isaac Chapple was seventh followed by Brandon Mattox, Shane Cockrum, and A.J. Hopkins.  Colten Cottle was eleventh and just missed a top ten finish.  He received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award.


     The five drivers who won preliminary heats were Carson Short, Robert Ballou, Justin Grant,  Shane Cockrum, and Kevin Thomas Jr.  The first heat was the only heat that did not see one or more yellow flags.  Adverse results sent two teams home early.


     MSCS is scheduled to race one more time this season at the Lincoln Park Speedway.  The series will be back in downtown Putnamville on Saturday August 18.


     The very next race on the schedule for MSCS is coming up on Saturday July 14.  The “Sprint Stampede” will be held at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, IN, that evening.  The winner will receive $2,500!


Provided as News and Information for MSCS.      


Share |