Haubstadt, IN - August 11, 2018 -  Sprint car driver C.J. Leary was in top form once again in conquering the high banks of Tri-State Speedway Saturday night.  The Greenfield, IN, driver was the overall fastest qualifier from all three groups that timed.  Then he won his heat before topping off the evening by winning the 14th  annual Hoosier Sprint Nationals which paid $5,000 to win.  It was a perfect winning performance! 

     It was Leary’s second victory in a row in competition with MSCS.  Both of those races were held at Tri-State Speedway.  The driver and his number 30 ride, which has become known as the HAUBSTADT Car, have been performing flawlessly at the track.  Leary drives the Green-Tech Lubricants sprinter.  After the race C.J. recognized his crew including Davey Jones and his father and car owner Chuck Leary.  “ The car was really good again tonight.  I hit my marks and here we are in victory lane again.”

     Robert Ballou raced to a strong second place finish in overtaking and passing a speedy Stephen Schnapf with just 3 laps to go in the 30 lap main.  Schnapf had led the race for the first three laps.  Polesitter and MSCS points leader Carson Short drove the Briscoe sprinter to a fourth place finish.  Chase Stockon was fifth.

     There was only one caution during the feature.  It was for an incident involving three cars.  Once the scene was cleared the action was fast and continuous.  Nine cars finished on the lead lap.  Garrett Aitken was that ninth driver.  In advancing up through the field he collected the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race Award.  Others in the second five included Daron Clayton in sixth followed by Josh Hodges and Dakota Jackson.  Chet Williams was tenth.  Aric Gentry received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award after finishing eleventh.

     The MSCS heat races were very competitive as all three winning drivers emerged from within the pack to take victories.  First heat winner Kyle Cummins had started fifth.  C. J. Leary won the second heat after starting fourth.  Third heat winner Stephen Schnapf had started third.

     The B Main presented some problems for the 10 contestants to overcome.  Trouble accompanied the start bringing out 2 yellow flags and a red flag.  Garrett Aitken would win the race.  Brandon Mattox moved up to finish second.  Mattox’s car had rolled over in his heat race which then placed him at the tail to start the B.  The red flag was for Kent Schmidt who flipped on the backstretch.  However he capitalized on a quick trip to the work area to rebound from the effects of the accident and grab the fifth and final transfer spot.

     Sprint car racing abounded.  The IMCA Racesaver Sprints also competed on the program. Jeffery Wimmenauer won their 25 lap feature.  Ethan Barrow took the runner-up spot.  MSCS competitors Kendall Ruble and Eric Perrott also competed in the Racesaver Series.  Ruble led a portion of the Racesaver feature before encountering a problem in traffic.  He restarted at the tail and was already up to seventh by the finish.  

     The next event for the Midwest Sprint Car Series will be coming up on Saturday August 18th.  It will be the Return to Putnamville which has served as an annual August appearance for the series at Lincoln Park Speedway.  The MSCS Sprints will be battling for $3,000 to win.  

     Provided as News and Information for MSCS.        

Share |