Putnamville, IN - August 18, 2018 -  Saturday night the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series competed at the Lincoln Park Speedway.  It is August and MSCS was returning to the speedway for that one last time this season.  The event drew 35 sprint car teams but of course there could only be one feature winner.  That was Brent Beauchamp of Columbus, OH.  Beauchamp was at the wheel of the Jeff Olson Racing Spike sponsored by Concrete Connection and Hoosier Tire.  


     Beauchamp started third in the feature field and took the lead from pole sitter Brandon Morin on lap 5.  On the next lap Carson Short moved into contention along with A.J. Hopkins to it a three way battle for the lead.  The outcome remained in doubt.  The drivers continued to challenge each other lap after lap.


     The 30 lapper further intensified by the halfway signal.  Sliders and crossovers produced challenges, quick changes, and reversals in the running order.  Behind the three, Colten Cottle was also on the move.  Cottle, who was in the Burton 04, moved up from fifth to capture second with 4 laps to go.  A.J. Hopkins completed the event in third spot.  Travis Berryhill finished fourth in a charge back up through the field after a visit to the work area on lap 3.  Track points leader Shane Cockrum would finish fifth.


     Shane Cockrum had a challenging evening.  He arrived at the track after qualifications had been completed.  He had raced a silver crown car at the Illinois State Fair that afternoon.  Once at the track Cockrum finished fifth in the fourth heat and just missed a transfer spot.  He then won the B Main to transfer to the feature.  Cockrum went to work moving up 12 places in the main to be named as the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race.


     MSCS Points leader Carson Short finished sixth in the Briscoe sprint.  He was followed by Nate McMillin.  Collin Ambrose was eighth.  Brandon Morin was ninth.  Garrett Aitken took the Pottorff 11P to a tenth place finish.  


     Jordan Kinser turned in the fastest lap during qualifications.  He finished eleventh in the feature and thus received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award.  New to the assembled field were six drivers who had not raced with the series before.  Two of those newcomers, Ayrton Olsen and Travis Spencer, made the 20 car feature.


     The four preliminary heat races went to drivers A.J. Hopkins, Colten Cottle, Carson Short, and Brent Beauchamp.  The second heat was very eventful.  Only 4 cars would take the checkered flag.  The feature itself was interrupted with 3 caution periods and one red flag.  The red was for Koby Barksdale who flipped on lap 14.  He had been running in the top ten.  There were also 3 yellow flags in the B Main.


     The next event on the calendar for the Midwest Sprint Car Series is the Labor Day Weekend Challenge at the Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, IN.  The feature race pays $3,000 to win!  This holiday show will be on a Sunday night September 2nd.


Provided as News and Information for MSCS     

Share |