Haubstadt, IN - August 24, 2018 -  Another special racing program will be presented at Tri-State Speedway on Sunday night over the Labor Day Weekend.  The Labor Day Weekend Challenge will be held on September 2nd this year.  The MSCS sprint car drivers will be racing for top honors and $3,000 to win.  


     The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series will be sanctioning this race for the 13th time.  There have been seven different winners.  Kyle Cummins of Princeton, IN, has won the Challenge the last three seasons.  Daron Clayton also has won this event three times in the past.  Hunter Schuerenberg has won two Challenges.  Other victors include  Jon Stanbrough, Chris Windom, Scotty Weir, and Blake Fitzpatrick.


     The 2018 Labor Day Weekend Challenge should attract a strong field of potential  winners plus the ever present contingency of challengers looking for that elusive first win.  In the 13 MSCS features held this year there have been ten different winning drivers.  Kevin Thomas Jr., Carson Short, and C.J. Leary are the only drivers who have stood in victory lane a second time.   


     Three big races remain on the MSCS schedule and all three are at Tri-State Speedway.  The one and only Haubstadt Hustler combining USAC and MSCS teams is set for Saturday Sept. 15th.  The Harvest Cup follows on Saturday October 13h.  This year the inclusion of the POWRi WAR Sprints will make the finale a co-sanctioned event.  The MSCS Champion, Top Ten, and Rookie of the Year honors depend on the outcomes of these final three events.  This process is compounded by challenges and more challenges. 


     The MSCS series raced three times in August.  Brent Beauchamp won the feature at Lincoln Park Speedway.  Robert Ballou was victorious at Terre Haute.  C.J. Leary won the Hoosier Sprint Nationals at Haubstadt.


     Carson Short has been building up his season points lead.  He now enjoys a 109 points lead.  Brandon Mattox and Donny Brackett are just 6 points apart in a continuing battle that has them in second and third in the standings.  Aric Gentry and Garrett Aitken are just separated by 3 points.  They rank fourth and fifth in the standings.  Kent Schmidt and Robert Ballou are just outside the top five.  


     The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series will share the racing card with the UMP Open Wheel Modifieds.  It will be an action packed double header.  The Modified drivers will be racing for a purse paying $1,000 to the feature winner.  This is also the rain date for the mod feature that was rained out back on June 24th.    


     Racing begins at 7:30 P.M Central Daylight Time.  Warm-ups take place at 6 P.M. with group qualifying to follow.  It’s sprints, modifieds, and exciting action Class Track style!  It all happens on Sunday September 2nd!

Provided as News and Information for MSCS and Tri-State Speedway.               

Share |