Haubstadt, IN -  July 13, 2019.  Tri-State Speedway presented the 2019 version of the Sprint Stampede Saturday night.  The BRANDEIS Midwest Sprint Car feature was the first of three features held to conclude the evening.  The IMCA Racesaver 305 Sprint Car Series and the Midwest Mini Sprint Association features followed. 

      The MSCS feature paid $2,500 to win.  Twenty drivers started the 25 lap contest.  It was a competitive race with three drivers battling for top honors.  Kendall Ruble made a very strong run after starting on the pole.  He shot into the lead as the green flag waved!  The Vincennes, IN, driver led lap after lap in a fast three to five car procession.  Kyle Cummins had passed Dakota Jackson and went to work to overtake Ruble.  Stephen Schnapf moved up and was pressuring Cummins for second.  The racing tightened and Cummins took the lead on lap 19.  Ruble finished a strong second,  Schnapf held third at the checkers.  Chase Stockon and Dakota Jackson rounded out the top five.  

     Kyle Cummins increased his points lead in the BRANDEIS MSCS Standings.  The Princeton, IN, driver also notched his 18th MSCS career feature victory.  The win was the sixth in MSCS competition this season.  It was his third in a row at Tri-State Speedway.  Cummins pilots the Rock Steady Racing Marc 1 sprint owned by Hank Byram.  The team effort is sponsored by Debra Corn Foster Care, Tim Mason RE/MAX, and Greenwell Auto Body. 

     The second five at the finish of the MSCS feature included Kent Schmidt, Brian Karraker, Chet Williams, Garrett Aitken, and Critter Malone.  Kent Schmidt had set the fastest lap of the 25 who qualified with a lap of 13.996 seconds.  Schmidt was the only driver of the 25 that qualified that got around the quarter mile oval in less than 14 seconds.  Brian Karraker had his passing game working as he earned the Certified Rentals Hard Charger Award worth an additional $100.  Donny Brackett was eleventh on the field and thus received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award.

     Four drivers made their first appearance of the season with the series.  Of those four, Braxton Cummins was quick enough to make the feature but had the misfortune to have to retire from the race.  Flames energing from under his car had to be extinguished once it was taken to the work area.

     The three ten lap heat races were victories earned in succession by Kendall Ruble, Dakota Jackson, and Kyle Cummins.  Brady Short won the B Main.  Ironically Short needed to run the B in order to transfer to the A after he flipped while leading the first heat.  A last lap three wide battle overtook lapped traffic and the closure rate created a problem in turns three and four.  James Lyerla and Chayse Hayhurst finished second and third in the B-Main.


        The MSCS Sprint Car Series will be idle until August.  The series will then compete in the 15th annual Hoosier Sprint Nationals at Tri-State Speedway followed by a second 2019 visit to the Terre Haute Action Track.  These two races are on Saturday and Sunday August 10th & 11th.

 Provided as News and Information for MSCS.            

Share |