Bloomington Speedway

Brownstown Speedway

Daugherty Speedway

Gas City I-69 Speedway

Kickapoo Speedway

Lincoln Park Speedway

Terre Haute Action Track

Tri-State Speedway




     Haubstadt, IN - November 2, 2010.  Blake Fitzpatrick of West Terre Haute, IN, captured his very first Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series title in 2010.  The season championship trophy and an award jacket from Hoosier Tire Midwest was presented to Blake prior to a WoO race being held at Tri-State Speedway on October 16th.  John Fitzpatrick received a trophy and jacket as the championship car owner.  MSCS season point fund checks were then sent out on the following Monday.  The monetary award for the MSCS Championship paid $2,000 for 2010 which was an increase over prior seasons.  The top ten drivers shared in a point fund sponsored by Hoosier Tire Midwest totaling almost seven thousand dollars.
     Fitzpatrick moved into the MSCS points lead after the September 17th race at Bloomington Speedway.  He sealed the deal with a run from the back of the pack to second at the Haubstadt Hustler Sprint 50 the next night.  Rain at Lawrenceburg two weeks later would force the cancellation of the final race and act to close out the season.  
The top three drivers would remain separated by a mere 27 points.
     Chase Stockon of Sullivan, IN, finished second in the standings and just 15 points behind Fitzpatrick.  Stockon used consistent top ten performances to lead the points during the heart of the season.  In all he finished eighth or higher in nine of the 11 features held.  He was second in total laps led on the list of 10 drivers who led features.  Stockon’s share in the point fund was $1,000.  Stockon and the drivers finishing third, fourth, and fifth received special designed wall plaques from MSCS.
     Fortville, IN, driver Jonathan Hendrick finished third in the overall standings.  He was also the top rookie in the final standings.  He received the 2010 MSCS Rookie of the Year trophy and an award jacket from Hoosier Tire Midwest at Tri-State Speedway on October 16th.  Hendrick was therefore the recipient of two checks.  The Rookie of the Year check in addition to his third place points check provided a combined total of $1,500.
     Brandon Mattox of Terre Haute, IN, was fourth and Brady Short of Bedford, IN, finished fifth this year in MSCS Points.  Mattox improved on a seventh place points finish earned during his rookie season the year before.  Short, who broke into the MSCS ranks in 2005, also had his best season in series competition by improving on an 8th place finish in 2008.  He has finished among the top twenty drivers all six seasons.
     Rookie Mark Perry III led the second five in points.  Perry was also awarded a plaque as the MSCS Hard Charger of the Year.  This year the plaque was accompanied by a new wheel from Keizer Aluminum Wheels.  Perry earned the honor by being named the Hard Charger of the Race two different times.  He was followed in points by Jon Stanbrough who added 5 MSCS wins this season to maintain his spot at the top of the MSCS All Time Victories column.  Three time MSCS champion Kyle Cummins finished eighth after getting a late start on the season.  Kurt Gross earned ninth along with a new nickname of the Savage.  Hunter Schuerenberg of Sikeston, MO, was tenth.  
     MSCS Awards Week was conducted between October 25th and the 30th.  Remaining post season prizes and contingency awards were distributed to the drivers then.  Merchandise certificates from AFCO totaling $575 were divided between three drivers.  The AFCO Top Performers in 2010 were Jonathan Hendrick,  Mark Perry III, and Chase Briscoe.  Perry was also notified that he was the winner of the contingency prize provided by Hinchman Indy Racing Uniforms.  Brandon Mattox, Mark Perry III, and Chase Briscoe received post season product discount certificates from Rod End Supply.
     There were two awards for which drawings had to be conducted.  The winner of a complete set of bumpers and nerf bars provided by Race Bumpers.Com  was Scotty Weir.   Kurt Gross’s name was drawn from a pool of 13 drivers who competed in 60% or more of the races.  Gross received a contingency discount certificate from Hilborn Fuel Injection valued at $100.
     The Wilwood “Tuff Brakes Award” for the season went to Jeff Bland Jr. who finished 11th in MSCS Points.  That award consisted of a supply of Wilwood brake fluid and two Wilwood promotional t-shirts.  Chase Briscoe received a supply of Mud-X releasing agent and MUD-X helmet cleaner.  Briscoe was 12th in points this season.  The two drivers finished just outside the top ten!  In all 123 drivers participated with MSCS during the season.  They showed up at the average rate of 31 cars per event with the 48 in the pits at Bloomington in September becoming the high mark for the season.
     The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series wishes to take this opportunity to thank all the series sponsors, drivers, car owners, and race fans for the support and participation during 2010.  It was the tenth season for the series.  With the awards process completed  MSCS officials will be reviewing the rule book and working with track promoters to build an inviting schedule of exciting sprint car events for 2011.

Provided as News and Information by MSCS                       

Share |