Haubstadt, IN - November 21, 2011.  The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series conducted its 2011 Official Awards Week between November 7th and November 12th.  All remaining post season prizes and contingency awards were distributed at that time.   
     Brady Short of Bedford, IN, was the 2011 MSCS Champion.  He received the championship trophy after the last event of the season on October 8th.  In addition Don Short was  recognized that evening as the Championship Car Owner.  Braylon Fitzpatrick was also honored as the 2011 MSCS Rookie of the Year.  Both individuals received their trophies.  Since then all three have been awarded jackets recognizing their respective accomplishments courtesy of  series sponsor Hoosier Tire Midwest.
    MSCS Point Fund checks were sent out in time to arrive during MSCS Awards Week.  Those went to the top ten drivers who met the 60% participation requirement.  The monetary award to the 2011 MSCS Champion was $2,000.  The point fund paid out including an extra $750 to the Rookie of the Year totaled almost $7,000.
     Large plaques were also provided to the drivers who finished second through fifth.  Those four drivers included runner-up Critter Malone along with Chase Briscoe, Braylon Fitzpatrick, and Chase Stockon.  It was the first time that Malone, Briscoe, or Fitzpatrick finished in the Top Five in MSCS Points.  Stockon has been there 4 times previously!
     Jonathan Hendrick of Fortville, IN, received the plaque for being the MSCS Hard Charger of theYear.  Hendrick took the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race Award three times to earn the season honors!
    Merchandise certificates from AFCO totaling $475 were divided between 3 Top Five drivers.  The AFCO Top Performers in 2011 were Brady Short, Chase Briscoe, and Chase Stockon.  Short also received a $100 discount certificate from Hilborn Fuel Injection.    
    Each year Hinchman Indy Racing Uniforms provides an award designated to be given in support of the MSCS Rookie Driver Program.  Kent Schmidt of Owensville, IN, finished as the Runner-up in the Rookie of the Year chase to win a valuable certificate towards the cost of a driving uniform.
     There was one special award for which a drawing had to be conducted.  The winner of a complete set of bumpers and nerf  bars provided by RaceBumpers.Com was Critter Malone.  Malone’s name was drawn from the pool of dedicated drivers with 60% participation at MSCS events.
     Over 100 drivers participated in MSCS races during the season.  They showed up at an average rate of 29 cars per event.  The 40 cars in the pits at Bloomington Speedway in September provided the most entries for a single event this season. 
     The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series wishes to take this opportunity to thank all the series sponsors, drivers, car owners, track promoters, and race fans for the support and involvement during 2011.  Other sponsors providing awards for racing held this season include Rod End Supply, Saldana Racing Products, and Wilwood Brakes.  The National Sprint Car Hall of Fame and Museum in Knoxville, Iowa, also donated three memberships to be included with this season’s awards & prizes!
     This was the eleventh season for the series.  With the awards process completed MSCS Officials will be reviewing the rule book and working with track promoters to build an inviting schedule of exciting non wing sprint car events for 2012.
Provided as News and Information by MSCS

Share |