Lawrenceburg, IN - September 29, 2012.  Chase Stockon of Elizabethtown, IN,  won the City of Lawrenceburg Nationals in a co-sanctioned event for the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series and the AMSOIL United States Auto Club Sprint Cars.  The victory was worth $10,000 Saturday night at Lawrenceburg Speedway for the 24 year old speedster.  It was his first USAC National Sprint Car win and fourth in MSCS competition.  He also became the eleventh different winner in the twelve MSCS races held thus far in 2012.
     Stockon started on the outside pole for the feature and literally took off.  Once he took the green he was gone.  He was fast, very fast and led all 30 laps.  Stockon’s winning car was sponsored by Superior Tank and Trailer, First Financial Bank, and Sprint Lift.  The crew chief is Sam Stockon Jr.   The Thirty-Two Racing Team sprint carries the special Ovarian Cancer Awareness paint scheme in honor of the late Laura Stockon.  It was also Pretty in Pink Night at the Lawrenceburg Speedway with a special promotion involving breast cancer awareness featuring a four abreast pace lap!
    Stockon was humble in victory lane as he collected his thoughts.  “Tonight we showed our improvement.  This is awesome to win and at a track close to home.  We had a good line in 3 and 4 and I knew I would have to make them pass me.”  No-one could!            
     Chris Windom finished second in the feature.  He made a run on Stockon as heavier lapped traffic began to become a factor with about 7 laps to go.  Windom caught a rut and lost valuable ground to the leader.  Damion Gardner finished third with a solid run.  Bryan Clauson was fourth and Hunter Schuerenberg moved up into the top five to finish fifth.  Fast qualifier Coleman Gulick retired to the pits with a mechanical problem that developed during the parade lap.
     The second five at the finish of the Lawrenceburg Nationals were Thomas Meseraull, Shane Cottle, Tracy Hines, Kevin Thomas Jr., and Jerry Coons Jr.  Racing continued on back through the pack.  Jon Stanbrough received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award in finishing eleventh on the field as well as the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race Award.  He made substantial gains in that he was slated to start at the back of the field.  He would be joined there by Brady Short who took a provisional and Logan Hupp.  Hupp would have started on the pole but he stopped on the track after being pushed off for the event thus he had to be restarted and was sent to the back of the field.  
     The four heat races were won by Robert Ballou, Dakota Jackson, C.J. Leary, and Jon Stanbrough.  The heats were competitive in that the fastest qualifiers in each one started sixth and they all moved up to finish third or fourth and transfer to the feature.  However the four heat winners this night all started on the front row.   
     Daron Clayton won the 12 lap Semi or B Main after starting well back in the fourth row.  Thomas Meseruall finished second as another six drivers earned transfers into the A Main.  The first six laps were run in one or two lap segments with yellow & red flags flying.  Logan Jarrett’s car flipped in turn three.  Drew Abel was also involved.  Then a lap later Chad Boespflug was involved in an accident along the wall on the back straightaway.  Andrew Elson rolled his car between turns three and four to create the final red.  Twenty cars started the B and only fourteen finished!

     This event was the final event at Lawrenceburg Speedway this season.  Only one more event remains on the MSCS schedule for 2012.  The second annual Harvest Cup at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, IN, will be held on Saturday, October 6th.  The 30 lap feature will pay $4,000 to win and $225 to start.  The UMP open wheel modifieds will also be on the race card.  It will also be the season finale at Tri-State Speedway.
     This one event will determine which driver will become the 2012 MSCS Champion.  Jon Stanbrough padded his lead slightly over Robert Ballou at Lawrenceburg.  They both won their heats but Stanbrough finished four spots higher in the feature.  Ballou now trails Stanbrough by only 8 points heading into Haubstadt for the finale.  In addition the outcome of the racing that night will decide the MSCS Rookie of the Year honors.  That too has become a driver dual between Chet Williams and Brian Karraker.  Karraker gained 4 points on Williams at Lawrenceburg to reduce the difference to 10 points.  
Provided as News and Publicity for MSCS

Share |