Haubstadt, IN, November 15, 2012.  The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series completed the series’ Official MSCS Awards Week as scheduled on November 3rd.  All remaining post season awards and contingency prizes have now been distributed.

     Jon Stanbrough of Brownsburg, IN, was the 2012 MSCS Champion.  He received the championship trophy at the conclusion of the Harvest Cup which served as the season finale on October 6th.  The Championship Car Owners trophy was presented to the team of owners including Daryl Tate, Dan Roberts, and Bruce Leer.  In addition Brian Karraker of Dongola, IL, was recognized that night as the 2012 MSCS Rookie of the Year.  These individuals also received award jackets at a later date courtesy of series sponsor Hoosier Tire Midwest.

     Hoosier Tire MSCS Point Fund checks were sent to the top ten drivers.  All ten met the 60% participation requirement.  The monetary award to the 2012 Champion was $2,500.  The point fund, including an award of $750 to the Rookie of the Year, totaled almost $8,000.

     Beautiful rosewood plaques were also provided to the drivers who finished second through fifth in the final points standings.  Those four drivers included runner-up Robert Ballou along with former champions Brady Short, Kyle Cummins, and Chase Stockon.  The Stanbrough and Ballou season long, tight points battle ended with only 7 points separating them in the final standings.

     Those sprint car drivers finishing sixth to tenth in MSCS points for 2012 were Damion Gardner, Jonathan Hendrick, Hunter Schuerenberg, Dakota Jackson, and Wes McIntyre.
     Jon Stanbrough also received a plaque for being the MSCS Hard Charger of the Year.  Stanbrough took the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race Award three different times to earn the season honors!

     Merchandise certificates from AFCO totaling $575 were awarded to the top drivers who enrolled in their special racing shocks program.  The top three awards went to drivers finishing in the top five in MSCS points including Robert Ballou, Brady Short, and Kyle Cummins.  Chet Williams also received a certificate.  He finished the season as the runner-up to the MSCS Rookie of the Year.

     Each year Hinchman Indy Racing Uniforms provides an award designated to be given in support of the MSCS Rookie Driver Program.  The Rookie of the Year Brian Karraker received the valuable certificate they provide towards the purchase of a driver’s uniform.

     There was one special award for which a drawing has to be conducted each year.  The winner of a complete set of bumpers and nerf bars provided by RaceBumpers.Com was Chase Stockon.  Stockon’s name was drawn from a pool of the eighteen eligible drivers that participated in 60% or more of the MSCS sanctioned events.

     The National Sprint Car Hall of Fame and Museum in Knoxville, Iowa, also contributed three memberships for the upcoming year.  Those were given to the 2012 MSCS Champion, Runner-up, and the Rookie of the Year.

     Over 100 drivers participated in MSCS races during the 2012 season.  They showed up at an average rate of  between 27 & 28 cars per event.  The 39 cars in the pits at Bloomington Speedway in September for a $5,000 to win event provided the most entries for a solo sanctioned event this season.

     The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series wishes to thank all the series sponsors, drivers, car owners, track promoters, various speedway officials, photographers, racing journalists, and race fans for their support and involvement during 2012.

     Some sponsors provided awards for each race held this past season.  Those included Saldana Racing Products, SBI Performance Fuel Systems, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Race Bumpers.Com and Wilwood Brakes.  One driver received an additional product award from Wilwood Brakes at the completion of the season.  Chase Briscoe just missed making the top ten in finishing 11th in MSCS Points thus earning the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award for the Season.

     This was the 12th season of racing for MSCS.  With the awards process completed MSCS officials will be reviewing the rule book and are already working with track promoters to create an inviting schedule of 410 sprint car races for 2013.

Provided as News and Information by MSCS      

Share |