Haubstadt, IN - October 12, 2013 - The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series closed out the season Saturday night with the running of the third annual Harvest Cup at Tri-State Speedway.  Chase Stockon of Elizabethtown, IN, won the 30 lap feature for the sprint cars.  The win was worth $4,000!  Once again Stockon finished the season strong.   He also won the feature at last year’s Harvest Cup.

     In a stellar performance Chase Stockon won his heat race and then led the majority of the feature after starting third.  The front row for the feature had Brady Short on the pole and Jon Stanbrough alongside.  The two drivers were at the top of the MSCS Standings and set to battle for the title.  Stanbrough went immediately to the lead and held it for eleven laps.  Then a yellow flag was needed and it was for Stanbrough after an incident in turn three.  With Stanbrough’s damaged car removed to the pit area, the field retook the green.  Stockon, who had already moved into second, had the lead and the speed to finish up front.

     Another restart after a 2 car spin with 27 laps completed closed up the field.  Blake Fitzpatrick seized the opportunity and passed Brady Short for second.  Short would finish third.  Robert Ballou claimed fourth spot.  Kyle Cummins moved up from 16th to finish fifth thus earning the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race Award.

     The remainder of the top ten for the feature included Braylon Fitzpatrick, Wes McIntyre, Daron Clayton, Jeff Bland Jr., and Bradley Sterrett.  Aaron Farney received the Wilwood Tough Brakes Award with an 11th place finish.

     Bradley Sterrett earned the MSCS Rookie of the Year Honors.  He received his award at intermission.  He thanked crew chief Kris Kirchner.  “I couldn’t ask for a better coach.”   And he thanked Bruce Leer of Leer Motorsports for giving him the opportunity to drive a sprint car.  “It has been a great car every time I got in it.”

     Based on the official race results, Jon Stanbrough was presented with the MSCS Championship trophy for 2013.  It was the second MSCS title in a row for Stanbrough.   The Amati Racing sprint car he drives is owned by Shane Wade and Daryl Tate.  Brady Short was the runner-up in points.  The Bedford Blaster was faced with making up a thirteen point deficit going into the feature, but came up a point short. 

     Preliminary MSCS events included three heats and a B Main for the overall 27 car field.  Braylon Fitzpatrick and Jon Stanbrough joined Stockon in winning heat races.  The second heat involved a torrid battle between Kyle Cummins and Kevin Thomas Jr. that produced a red flag with both cars flipping in turn four.  Cummins was able to restart but Thomas had heavy damage to his car and his race night ended early.  Brian Karraker won the B Main with Carson Short finishing second. 

     The program produced some harrowing moments!  Hunter Schuerenberg took a wild ride in hot laps.  When his car flipped the fuel cell flew over the track billboards landing at the push off chute well within in the pits.  Chet Williams flipped at the start-finish line during the B.  Then Dave Darland flipped at the end of the front stretch on lap 2 of the feature.

Provided as News and Information for MSCS.                    

Share |