Haubstadt, IN - November 3, 2014.  Additional Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series 2014 Season Awards were distributed to drivers during the last week of October.  The week of October 27th thru October 31st served as MSCS Awards Week this year.  These post season awards included the Top 10 point fund checks, the Top 5 recognition plaques, and various contingency prizes.

     Kyle Cummins of Princeton, IN, won his fourth MSCS Driving Championship and his very first as the car owner.  Cummins earned the most points of any MSCS Champion since the 2003 season with a total of 1,031.  His margin of victory was 146 points.  He  won two features and finished in the top four during the feature 12 times.  Cummins received the two championship trophies prior to the running of the Harvest Cup at Tri-State Speedway which was the final race for this season.

     Hoosier Tire MSCS Point Fund Checks have been issued to the Top 10 drivers.  All ten met the 60% participation requirement.  The Champion’s portion was $2,500.  The point fund also included an award of $750 to this year’s Rookie of the Year James Lyerla.  The point fund paid out totaled almost $8,000.  Embroidered award jackets from Hoosier Tire Midwest were also presented to the Champion and Rookie of the Year.

     Former MSCS Champion Brady Short finished as the runner-up in points for the second season in a row.  He moved into second place in points by winning the feature at the Harvest Cup.  The victory provided the boost needed for Short to edge Brandon Mattox for the second spot by three points.  Brady Short, Brandon Mattox, Robert Ballou and Carson Short received beautiful rosewood MSCS plaques for positions two through five during the late October awards distribution.   Robert Ballou and Brady Short tied with the most feature wins.  Each won three features during the season.  

     The remainder of the top ten drivers included Jeff Bland Jr., James Lyerla, Aaron Farney, Chase Stockon, and Daylan Chambers.  To their credit, Lyerla, Farney, and Chambers were all completing their rookie seasons with the series.  

     Kyle Cummins received the plaque from MSCS for being  the 2014 Hard Charger of the Year.  The plaque is awarded each year to the driver who is the Hard Charger of the Race the most times.  In event of a tie, the award is then given to the Hard Charger of the Race who moved up the most spots during a feature.  Two other drivers also repeated in being the Hard Charger of the Race.  Donny Brackett and Robert Ballou accomplished the feat twice!  Kyle Cummins had gained 13 spots, which was the highest mark of the year for the three drivers!

     Merchandise certificates from AFCO totaling over $500 are awarded to the top drivers from those who signed up for their special racing shocks program.  The top three awards went to Kyle Cummins, Brandon Mattox, and rookie James Lyerla.

    Each year Hinchman Indy Racing Uniforms provides an award designated to be given in support of the MSCS Rookie Driver Program.  The Rookie of the Year James Lyerla received the valuable certificate they provide towards the purchase of a driver’s uniform.  AFCO is also another supporter of the Rookie Program each season.

     The gate prize that is presented at the end of the season by RaceBumpers.Com was won by Aaron Farney.  He won  a complete set of bumpers and nerf bars.  Farney’s name was drawn from a pool of 13 eligible drivers that participated in 60% or more of the 17 MSCS points paying events.

    The National Sprint Car Hall of Fame in Knoxville, Iowa, also contributed three membership packets for the upcoming year.  They were given to the Champion, Points Runner-up, and Rookie of the Year.

     More than 110 drivers participated in MSCS races in 2014,  They arrived at an average rate of 28 cars per event.  The 44 cars in the pits at Lincoln Park Speedway in August for a $3,000 to win event was the largest field assembled.

     The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series wishes to thank all the series sponsors, drivers, car owners, track promoters, officials, journalists, photographers, and the enthusiastic race fans for their support and involvement in 2014.

     Sponsors who provided awards associated with the racing events held include Keizer Aluminum Wheels, RaceBumpers.Com, Rod End Supply, Saldana Racing Products, Pyrotect Racing Cells, and Wilwood Brakes.  

     This was the 14th season of racing for MSCS.  With the awards process completed MSCS Officials will be reviewing the rule book during the off season.  Also management is already working with track promoters to create an exciting schedule of non-wing 410 sprint car races for 2015.          


Provided as News & Information for MSCS 



Share |