Haubstadt, IN - September 26, 2015 -  The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series drivers competed at Tri-State Speedway Saturday night during the third annual Class Track Fall Roundup.  Kyle Cummins of Princeton, IN, won the 25 lap feature.  The victory was his second for this event in that he also won it in 2014.  Cummins has also won two of the last three MSCS features held at the track this season.  The winning sprint car was the 3R deployed by the Rock Steady Racing Team owned by Hank Byram.  The car is powered by a Cummins Race Engine and sponsored by Pro Glide Coatings and Creative Finishing.  The winner’s share of the purse was $2,000.


     Twenty cars started the sprint car feature.  Max McGhee was the early leader.  He started third on the field and held off pole sitter Zach Daum for the first nine laps.  Daum left the track and competition during a yellow flag erasing his chance for a top finish.  On the restart Cummins was running second and he would take the lead on lap 16 with one of his patented passes down the backstretch and into turn three.  By lap eighteen Brady Short had moved up behind him and the two would match speed at the front of the pack for the final eight circuits.  Short would finish second.  Kent Schmidt of Owensville, IN, took third place with a last lap pass which dropped McGhee to fourth place.  Brandon Mattox would finish fifth.  Mattox had the best finish for the four drivers penalized starting positions for reporting late to staging.      


    Dakota Jackson, Jordan Kinser, Chet Williams, Aric Gentry, and Bub Cummings made up the rest of the top ten.  Braxton Cummings was eleventh and received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award.  Chet Williams, who started twentieth, was the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the race in moving up to eighth.  Max McGhee and Kyle Cummins won the two preliminary heat races.  Brandon Mattox earned the most passing points for the drivers during the two heat races.


     The work area was very busy all night during the MSCS portion of the program.  There were five caution periods during the feature with as many as three cars receiving attention at the same time.  Dakota Jackson made two separate stops in an effort to replace a front shock, restarted at the back, and then raced his way to a sixth place finish.  There were 7 drivers though who were unable to make repairs and could not finish the event.


     The final event for the Midwest Sprint Car Series will be held on October 10th at Tri-State Speedway.  The Harvest Cup that night will pay $3,000 to win.  Traditionally that is the night that the series crowns it’s new champion and rookie of the year.   Brady Short had a good points night at the Roundup.  The 11 points Brady gained over Carson Short was the insurance he needed to assure that he will be the MSCS Champion for 2015. Brandon Morin also has a lock on the Rookie of the Year honors!  


Provided as news and information for the Midwest Sprint Car Series.

Share |