Haubstadt, IN - October 3, 2015 -   The 2015 racing season is coming to an end.  The final event for the Midwest Sprint Car Series is scheduled to be held on Saturday night October 10th.  That evening Tri-State Speedway will once again host the Harvest Cup for 410 non wing sprint cars.  This event was created back in 2011 to provide the series with a specific event designed to finish out the season.


     Drivers present will be competing for a purse which pays $3,000 to win the feature.   Leading drivers in the series will also have one last opportunity to gain valuable points which could translate into a larger share of the point fund sponsored by Hoosier Racing Tire.  The event is also the last race to be held at the speedway in the 2015 season.  


     The feature race will provide 30 laps of excitement.  Recent MSCS features have been fast, unpredictable, and usually too close to call.  With transponders now being used for timing and scoring the margin of victory is recorded.  The largest margins during the second half of this season were recorded by Kyle Cummins.  His two recent victories at Tri-State Speedway, however, were still close enough to be in the two second range.


     Two of the ten features won by Brady Short were by very narrow margins.  The closest victory recorded so far was at the Hoosier Sprint Nationals.  He beat Chase Stockon to the line by only .240 second.  Brady’s victory over Dickie Gaines at Brownstown was also very close.  Lap after lap of side by side racing ended with a .353 of a second margin.  


     Brady Short captured enough points at the September 26th MSCS event to place a lock on the 2015 MSCS Season Championship.  It is the second Hoosier Tire MSCS title for the Bedford Blaster.  He also was the champion for the 2011 season.  He was the runner-up in 2013 and again in 2014 after finishing third in 2012.  He has finished in the top ten in points seven times since his rookie season in 2005.  Brandon Morin will receive the honors as this season’s MSCS Rookie of the Year.  The Champion Driver, Champion Car Owner, and Rookie of the Year will be receiving their awards at the Harvest Cup!


     Carson Short’s position as the runner-up in points is secure for 2015.  However positions three to tenth could undergo some adjustments following this final race.  A perfect night would total seventy points.  That would include a heat race win, the feature win, and show-up points.  James Lyerla is currently third in points.  Donny Brackett and Brandon Mattox are both within striking distance.  


     Race fans will be treated to a triple header at the Harvest Cup to wrap up the season.  The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will be competing for an increased purse.  The feature will pay $1,000 to win.  Also unloading to race will be the MMSA Mini-Sprints.  It will be the third appearance of the season for MMSA.  Rod Henning and Andy Bradley recorded victories at the two previous mini-sprint races.  Brady Short won the Harvest Cup for Sprints in 2014 and Dustin Beck won the UMP Modified feature last year.


Provided as News & Information for MSCS & Tri-State Speedway.  

Share |