Haubstadt, IN - October 10, 2015 -  Chase Stockon captured the Harvest Cup at the Tri-State Speedway Saturday night.  The Elizabethtown, IN, driver started on the pole and no-one could catch him.  It took nine laps of racing behind him for a challenger to emerge with the speed to catch him.  That was Kyle Cummins who had started seventh.  Cummins would strive to close in on the leader only to have Stockon dive into a pack of cars.  Stockon was uncanny in dealing with lapped traffic and would somehow emerge with an opportunity to widen his lead again.  A restart with only one lap to go in the 30 lap feature presented one final chance for Cummins to challenge for the lead.  One lap wasn’t enough time.  Chase Stockon capitalized on a great restart and rocketed to his third MSCS win of the season.


     In victory lane Stockon was very candid.  “There was a lot of pressure behind me.  I knew that one slip up could cost me.  I needed to run smart.  The race got a little tricky but we got the job done.  I have struggled a little here this year.  Tonight D.J. (Ott) got the car working great!”  Stockon was in the familiar 32/TBI Racing sprint sponsored by Crescent Electric, Angle Buildings, FK Shocks, and Ted Brown’s Quality Paint.   


     Kyle Cummins finished second and Kevin Thomas Jr. was third in the feature.  Both were hoping to do better and that racer determination was voiced by them following the event.  Cummins and the Rock Steady Racing Team and Kevin Thomas Jr. and the Michael Dutcher Motorsports team attained another podium finish each.  2015 MSCS Champion Brady Short finished fourth.  He received the championship trophy along with car owner Cam Pottorff in a pre-race ceremony.  2015 Points runner-up Carson Short was next  to complete a very strong top five in the running order.


     Critter Malone was on the move after needing to restart at the back of the pack.  He was involved in an incident that brought out the first yellow flag for the feature and sent the damaged car of Donny Brackett to the pits.  Malone finished the race with a last lap move that placed him sixth.  Jeff Bland Jr. was seventh.  The remainder of the top ten included Kent Schmidt, Chet Williams, and James Lyerla.


     Dakota Jackson received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award with an eleventh place finish.  2015 Rookie of the Year Brandon Morin was twelfth.  He was also honored at the pre-race awards ceremony.  His battle with Kendall Ruble in the B Main for that last transfer spot went lap after lap.  Chet Williams won the B Main.  Williams and Morin both gained 8 spots in the feature to lead all contenders for the Hardcharger designation.  Chet Williams had the higher finish so he was the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race.


     Heat races for the 25 car MSCS field were won by Kevin Thomas Jr., Chase Stockon, and Jeff Bland Jr.  Jeff Bland Jr. earned the most passing points in moving up six spots in heat three.  This event concluded the season for the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series.   

Provided as News and Publicity for MSCS.

Share |