Haubstadt, IN - November 4, 2015.  Additional 2015 Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series Season Awards have been distributed to drivers.  The week of October 26th thru October 31st served as the annual MSCS Awards Week for this year.  Post season awards included point fund checks to the top 10 drivers, recognition plaques for second to fifth in points, and all the available contingency prizes.

     Brady Short of Mitchell, IN, won his second MSCS Championship.  Short earned the most points of any MSCS Champion since the 2002 season with a total of 1,194.  His lead as the season ended was 82 points.  In route to the championship he  won a record  ten MSCS features to become the series All Time Feature Wins leader.  A five race winning streak developed as the Bedford Blaster won every MSCS race held in August!

     Brady Short received the driver championship trophy in a ceremony prior to the Harvest Cup at Tri-State Speedway which closed out the 2015 season.  Cam Potorff was also present to receive the Championship Car Owner’s trophy.  The Crew Chief was Don Short.  Embroidered award jackets from Point Fund Sponsor Hoosier Tire Midwest were presented to the Champions and Rookie of the Year.

     Brandon Morin of Jasonville, IN, was awarded the MSCS Rookie of the Year trophy.  Morin also managed to earn a tenth place finish in overall series points.  Morin received two checks.  Besides the point fund check he received a check for $750 as the Rookie of the Year.  In addition to the monetary awards he also received a valuable certificate  towards the purchase of a racing uniform from series sponsor Hinchman Indy Racing Uniforms.  Each year Hinchman Indy Racing Uniforms provides an award designated to be given in support of the MSCS Rookie Driver Program.  

     Hoosier Tire MSCS Point Fund Checks were issued to the top 10 drivers that met the 60% participation requirement.  The Champion’s portion was $2,500.  The total of the point fund that was paid out totaled over $7,500.  

     Carson Short finished as the runner-up in season points.  The nineteen year old Marion, IL, driver led the MSCS standings four different times during the season and it was only his third year to drive a sprint car.  Carson Short, James Lyerla, Donny Brackett, and Brandon Mattox received beautiful rosewood plaques for finishing in positions two through five.  

     The remainder of the top ten drivers included Robert Ballou, Kyle Cummins, Jeff Bland Jr., Jon Stanbrough, and Brandon Morin.  Robert Ballou received the plaque from MSCS for being the 2015 Hard Charger of the Year.  The special plaque is awarded each year to the driver who is the Hard Charger of the Race the most times.  

     Merchandise certificates from AFCO totaling over $500 are awarded each year to the top drivers from those who signed up for their special racing shocks program.  The four awards went to Brady Short, James Lyerla, Donny Brackett, and rookie Brandon Morin.  AFCO is also another supporter of the Rookie Program each season.  Four of the top five MSCS drivers participated this past season.

        The National Sprint Car Hall of Fame in Knoxville, Iowa, also contributes three membership packets for the upcoming year.  They are provided for the Champion, Points Runner-up, and Rookie of the Year.

      The gate prize that is presented at the end of the season by RaceBumpers.Com was won by Donny Brackett.  He won  a complete set of bumpers and nerf bars.  Brackett’s name was drawn from a pool of all of the eligible drivers that participated in 60% or more of the twenty MSCS points paying events.

     More than 120 drivers participated in MSCS races in 2015,  They arrived at an average rate of 25 cars per event.  High car count honors for the season belonged to Bloomington Speedway where 35 cars at an April race was topped by 39 cars at the Josh Burton Memorial in May.

     The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series wishes to thank all the series sponsors, drivers, car owners, track promoters, officials, journalists, photographers, and the enthusiastic race fans for their support and involvement in 2015.

     Sponsors who provided awards associated with the racing events held include Hooker Harness, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Pyrotect Racing Cells, RaceBumpers.Com, Rod End Supply, Saldana Racing Products, and Wilwood Brakes.  

     This was the 15th season of racing for MSCS.  The schedule of 20 events was 100% completed.  This was the most races ever conducted in a season by MSCS.  Management is already working with track promoters to create an equally exciting schedule of non-wing sprint car races for 2016.          


Provided as News & Information for MSCS 

Share |