C.J. Leary Takes the "HARVEST CUP"



     Haubstadt, IN (October 21, 2017) -  C.J. Leary of Greenfield, IN, raced to victory Saturday night in claiming the “Harvest Cup” to close out the season for the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series and Tri-State Speedway.  Leary was the quickest in a 21 car field whose overall performance produced an event with all 30 laps completed under the green flag. There were no restarts and every position drivers gained took an all out effort.

     Leary took the lead from Chase Stockon on lap 7.  The gap between the two leaders varied as they overtook traffic.  However Leary was in control.  Stockon would cross the finish line a second and a half behind.  Leary collected $5,000 in winning his first career MSCS feature.  Leary’s car is sponsored by Leary Construction and Highsmith Guns.  The car owners are Chuck and Tammy Leary.   

     The other drivers in the top five were grouped further back in a second contest with Kyle Cummins leading Kevin Thomas Jr. and Chase Briscoe to the line.  The second five was led by overall fast qualifier Chet Williams who was followed by rookie Stephen Schnapf, Robert Ballou, Donny Brackett, and Brady Short.  Carson Short received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award as the eleventh place finisher.

     Brady Short was the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger for the race.  He had improved 7 positions overall.  Kent Schmidt took a provisional to start the feature and also improved seven spots to finish fourteenth.  Winner C.J. Leary started seventh and passed six top competitors.  The ZERO redraw had produced a straight up starting field.  Drivers throughout the field came to race that one last time this season.

     Brady Short and car owner Cam Pottorff received their 2017 Hoosier Tire MSCS Championship trophies and award jackets during opening ceremonies.  It was the fourth series championship for Brady Short and third in the row for the duo.  The MSCS Rookie of the Year Award was presented to Kendall Ruble during a second presentation which followed the feature.

     In preliminary action the three heat races were won by Chase Stockon, Kyle Cummins, and Carson Short.  Tyler Thomas and Brady Short finished one and two in the B Main.  Collin Ambrose was to have been one of the 12 starters for the B but had to scratch for the event after hitting the concrete wall and fencing on the backstretch in the second heat and flipping.  Brandon Mattox and Kent Schmidt were involved in another accident in that heat.  It started with a spin and ended when Schmidt’s car flipped up onto that of Mattox.  However Mattox started the B and took the last feature transfer position.   

     Planning and preparation will replace racing for a few months until the series can return to action next spring for an eighteenth consecutive year.

Provided as News and Information for MSCS.
Share |