Haubstadt, IN - November 8, 2017 -  The top drivers participating with the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series this season will be receiving awards being distributed to finalize the 2017 season.  This year the week beginning November 6th will serve as the annual MSCS Awards Week.

     Post season awards include sending point fund checks to all eligible top 10 drivers.    Rosewood plaques were provided to drivers placing second to fifth in points.  An additional special award plaque served to honor the MSCS Hard Charger of the Year.  And there are various other contingency prizes.

     Brady Short of Mitchell, IN, won a fourth MSCS crown.  His lead over runner-up Carson Short of Marion, IL, as the season ended was 129 points.  In route to the season title, Brady Short was ever consistent in finishing in the top 10 in all 15 feature events held.  He also remains as the All Time MSCS Feature Wins leader with 22 victories!  The 22nd win was at Brownstown Speedway in June.  A third place feature finish in the Hoosier Sprint Nationals at Haubstadt on August 5th propelled him into the points lead.  Carson Short had led the standings the previous seven stops on the tour.

     Brady Short was presented with the driver championship trophy prior to the Harvest Cup in October at Tri-State Speedway.  Cam Pottorff was the Championship Car Owner.  The Champion’s portion of the Hoosier Tire sponsored MSCS Points Fund was $3,000.  The point fund which is sponsored by Hoosier Tire MIdwest was increased this year with the complete payout totaling $8,950.  Embroidered award jackets from Hoosier Tire were also provided to honor the Champions and Rookie of the Year.

     Kendall Ruble of Vincennes, IN, was awarded the MSCS Rookie of the Year trophy trackside following the feature at the last race.  Ruble finished in seventh place in overall series points.  The two awards resulted in the driver receiving two checks.  In addition to the point fund check he received a check for $750 as the Rookie of the Year.  Ruble also received a valuable certificate towards the purchase of a custom driver’s uniform from  Hinchman Indy Racing Uniforms.  Each season Hinchman sponsors this award in support of the MSCS driver development program..

     Brandon Mattox finished third in season points.  The Centerpoint, IN, sprint car driver moved up to third in the standings to begin July and protected that spot the second half of the season.  In addition to Carson Short and Brandon Mattox, Kyle Cummins and Kent Schmidt  received top five plaques.  The remainder of the top ten drivers included Robert Ballou, rookies Kendall Ruble and Ben Knight, Donny Brackett, and Chase Stockon.  Chet Williams finished eleventh, just outside of the top ten.

     Champion Brady Short received the plaque from MSCS for being the 2017 Hard Charger of the Year.  The special plaque is awarded each year to the driver who is the Hard Charger of the Race the most times.  Brady Short accomplished that feat 5 times during the season.  Kevin Thomas Jr., recorded the most MSCS feature wins with three.

     Merchandise certificates from AFCO totaling over $500 were awarded to the top drivers from those who signed up with MSCS for their racing shocks program.  Two awards went to Kendall Ruble.  Brady Short and Donny Brackett were also recipients.  Three of the top ten MSCS drivers participated in the program this past season.

     The National Sprint Car Hall of Fame in Knoxville, Iowa, also contributes three membership packets each season.  They are provided for the Champion, Points Runner-up, and Rookie of the Year.  

     The Midwest Sprint Car Series wishes to thank all the series sponsors, drivers, car owners, track promoters, officials, journalists, photographers, and all those enthusiastic race fans for their involvement and support in 2017.

     Sponsors who provided awards associated with each racing event held include Hooker Harness, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Pyrotect Racing Cells, Rod End Supply, Saldana Racing Products, and Wilwood Brakes.  

     This was the 17th season of racing for MSCS.  The schedule of 17 events was 88% completed.  Only 2 events fell victim to weather.  Over one hundred drivers participated in the MSCS races.  They arrived to race at an average of 28 cars per event.  The two highest car counts for the season belonged to Lincoln Park Speedway with 40 registered twice.

      Management will be working with track promoters in the weeks ahead to complete an equally challenging schedule of MSCS non-wing sprint car races for 2018.          

                                            Provided as News & Information for MSCS 

Share |